Home > Mobile > My Mobile Data Usage!

My Mobile Data Usage!


iPad and iPhone do 60% of US mobile browsing and 8.2% of US web browsing is from mobile devices. These are pretty high percentages compare to five years ago. Then I looked at my mobile phone bills and statistics and I found out why. I was a Blackberry user since 2000; virtually hooks to it. This January I decided to switch to iPhone and rest is history! This is from my ATT monthly bill. I am glad I have an unlimited data plan; I am not sure about ATT though 🙂

  1. July 6, 2011 at 11:31 pm

    this give us an insight into the future market trrends. its all point towards apple’s dominance in the market palce.

  2. July 7, 2011 at 1:30 pm

    I assume you’re seeing similar trends in your non-mobile networks!

  3. babakjaf
    July 7, 2011 at 3:17 pm

    @Scott; absolutely! And I didn’t mean just Apple users; in general data usage picks up.

  4. William
    August 29, 2011 at 12:24 am

    This is not a “dominance of Apple” issue; it is an “Apple devices consume data much more than other more conservative devices” issue. Perhaps Apple devices encourage their owners to fool around on the ‘net more often, as well, but the engineering of Apple devices is all geared towards iTunes store purchases – everything else is a distant second place.

    BlackBerry devices simply run more efficiently than other devices as far as data goes. It’s an inbred design thing for them to sip data. Compare how email attachments are handled for example.

    • babakjaf
      August 29, 2011 at 12:44 am

      There is no such thing as “iPhone using more data and Blackberry less and …”. I think you confused applications with OS and other HW related issues. I used Netflex a lot because Apple made it so simple and my Blackberry Bold made is so difficult! It is ease of use that encourage app developers to create more data hungry apps. Based on your analogy; to tackle gas problem, all car manufacturers should me 4 cylinder cars, small and very uncomfortable. So if you need you use it and most of the people will suffer and switch to public transport!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

